ARPA-E Energy Innovation Summit 2010

Supporting America’s Breakthrough Energy Innovators

The Inaugural ARPA-E Energy Innovation Summit held March 1 -3, 2010 at the Gaylord Convention Center, just outside Washington, D.C. brought together the nation’s key players in energy innovation: scientific researchers, VC investors, technology entrepreneurs, large corporations, and government officials.

View 2011 ARPA-E Energy Innovation Summit website

Keynote speakers and key participants included:

Steven Chu

Steven Chu

Secretary of Energy
U.S. Department of Energy
Arun Majumdar

Arun Majumdar

Carol Browner

Carol Browner

Assistant to the President for Energy and Climate Change
Vinod Khosla

Vinod Khosla

Khosla Ventures
Thomas Friedman

Thomas L. Friedman

“Foreign Affairs”, Columnist
The New York Times
Daniel Yergin

Daniel Yergin

IHS Cambridge Energy Research Associates, Inc. (IHS CERA)
Daniel B. Poneman

Daniel B. Poneman

Deputy Secretary of Energy
U.S. Department of Energy
Bart Gordon

Bart Gordon

United States Representative
Lamar Alexander

Lamar Alexander

United States Senator
Jeff Bingaman

Jeff Bingaman

United States Senator
Byron Dorgan

Byron L. Dorgan

United States Senator
Jeffrey Immelt

Jeffrey R. Immelt

Chairman and CEO
General Electric Company (GE)
John Doerr

John Doerr

Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers
Michael Splinter

Michael R. Splinter

Chairman of the Board of Directors, President & CEO
Applied Materials, Inc.
Karen Mills

Karen G. Mills

U.S. Small Business Administration
John Holdren

John P. Holdren

Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
Kristina Johnson

Kristina M. Johnson

Under Secretary of Energy
U.S. Department of Energy
Steven Koonin

Steven E. Koonin

Under Secretary for Science
U.S. Department of Energy
Deborah Wince-Smith

Deborah Wince-Smith

President and CEO
Council on Competitiveness
James Woolsey

R. James Woolsey

Venture Partner
VantagePoint Venture Partners
Donald Paul

Donald L. Paul

Executive Director, University of Southern California Energy Institute, Former CTO of Chevron
Desh Deshpande

Desh Deshpande

Chairman and Co-Founder
Sycamore Networks
David Sandalow

David Sandalow

Assistant Secretary for Policy and International Affairs
U.S. Department of Energy
Matt Rogers

Matt Rogers

Senior Advisor to the Secretary for Recovery Act Implementation
U.S. Department of Energy
Roger Natsuhara

Roger M. Natsuhara

Assistant Secretary of the Navy (Installations and Environment)
James Rogers

James E. Rogers

Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer
Duke Energy Corporation
Neal Hunter

F. Neal Hunter

Co-founder and former CEO
Cree, Inc.

Hosted by

Department of Energy

Program Highlights

  • Transformational Energy Technology Showcase, which displayed the first ARPA-E award winners, finalists, and additional innovative energy technologies!
  • Dynamic Speakers & Panelists: Bringing Disruptive Technologies to Market, Scaling And Financing Energy Technology, Views from the White House and the Hill, Building Regional Clusters, and more...
  • Pre-conference Workshop: where participants we able to meet with ARPA-E program managers, understand agency priorities and submission requirements, and discuss future project opportunities in a special 1-day event.

Gold Sponsors

Dow Silicon Valley Bank GE
Case Western Reserve University Wilson Sonsin iGoodrich and Rosati Ernst Young
Acore MDB Capital Group

Presented by


Supporting Partners

National Venture Capital Association

Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation

Silver Sponsors

Flad Architects GAITS GridWise Alliance NIREC

Media/Association Partners

Clean Air Cool Planet Environmental Entrepreneurs Alliance to Save Energy Clean Economy Network
Program | Workshop | Showcase | Sponsors | Press |
News | Subscribe | Contact | Site Map
© Clean Technology and Sustainable Industries Organization. All Rights Reserved.